Skip to content
March 24, 2010 / theatregrad

Let’s celebrate celebrate good times come on…

A blog title featuring lyrics borrowed from Kool & The Gang seems the only proper way to introduce my excellent news…

FUNDING IS MINE!!! (subject to AHRC approval of course…)

I has a money - credit to icanhascheezburger.com

On Monday evening I received an email from the postgraduate scholarships department at Sheffield informing me of the good news.  Very unexpected and I think it is still sinking in.   I wasn’t expecting it because everyone tells you it is very competitive and in my opinion my academic background is distinctly average.   On results day last year I spent most of the day in tears, hating myself for narrowly missing out on a first class honours.   I believed that was the end of my funding chances.   Seems I was wrong bout needing a first at least!

I feel as though a great weight has been lifted from my shoulders.  My heart says Sheffield is awesome, but the rational voice in the back of my head was questioning whether Sheffield was really worth  the massive bank loan debt and general financial misery.

Part of the problem was that I didn’t ever intend to do a masters until I reached the end of my final year,  so saving for one never occurred to me and I lived in the ‘I will graduate and make lots money’ world of thought.  Oh how naive!

I probably would have gone regardless of funding but the option of studying closer to home would have felt far more sensible.  Thankfully that’s no longer an issue, those hours studying  at university and all the time spent reading LIS journals and blogs have paid off.

Now for the scary bit – finding somewhere to live.  No crazy housemates wanted please, thank you.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ned Potter / Mar 24 2010 4:46 pm

    It’s so hard to get funding these days – congratulations, I’m really pleased for you!

    • theatregrad / Mar 24 2010 5:20 pm

      Thank you!

      I think it has given me a little confidence boost, its reassuring to know that other people think that this is the right route for me to be taking and that I’ve got some potential.

      Excited to get there and get started now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

